The Political Committee

The ANC Political Committee is responsible for the overall political guidance of the organisation’s Parliamentary Caucus and the Office of the Chief. Among its chief responsibilities, the Committee provides strategic direction to Caucus on macro political matters within the institution. This includes, inter alia, proper political management of the ANC cadres deployed in Parliament and guiding Caucus and its study groups.

The Political Committee is a subcommittee of the NEC. Within the context of the relevant Constitutional and Legal framework, the Political Committee carries the responsibility to ensure the implementation of ANC policies and decisions with regard to the functioning of Parliament.

The Political Committee is appointed by the NEC/NWC.

Members of the Political Committee

  1. Cyril Ramaphosa (Chairperson)
  2. Naledi Pandor
  3. Baleka Mbete
  4. Thandi Modise
  5. Tsenoli Lechesa
  6. Rasariti Tau
  7. Jeff Radebe
  8. Bathabile Dlamini
  9. Ebrahim Ebrahim (alternate)
  10. Gerhard Koornhof (alternate)
  11. Doris Dlakude (alternate)