New leadership

25 September 2008

The ANC Parliamentary Caucus congratulates the organisation’s Deputy President, Kgalema Motlanthe, on his election to the position of the President of the Republic of South Africa. Motlanthe has served the people for many years with unwavering commitment, honesty and dedication in the struggle for the liberation of this country and recently as Minister in the Presidency.

His election today is a demonstration of ANC’s commitment to the enhancement of service delivery and the seriousness in which it takes continuity and stability in governance. In this regard, we take the opportunity to thank the former President, Thabo Mbeki, for the outstanding contribution he rendered to this country in the last 14 years of its democratic government.

We congratulate ANC Chairperson, Baleka Mbete, for her appointment to the position of the Deputy President of the Republic. We also congratulate Lindiwe Mahlangu-Nkabinde and Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge for their election by the National Assembly to the positions of Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Caucus further congratulates its Chief Whip, Nathi Mthethwa, and other ANC Members of Parliament for their appointment to serve in the National Executive. We are satisfied that the President has put together an excellent and outstanding team of individuals capable of delivering on the aspirations of the people of this country for a better life.

Issued by the ANC Parliamentary Caucus

Khotso Khumalo (ANC Caucus Spokesperson)
072 307 7007