New ANC appointments for fifth Parliament

12 June 2012

The meeting of the ANC Parliamentary Caucus that took place today has congratulated the Members of Parliament who have been appointed to serve in various positions in the fifth democratic Parliament. The names of these capable men and women, who will steer these important structures of Parliament for the next five years, were announced by the Secretary General of the ANC, Gwede Mantashe, at the Caucus meeting this morning.

All these appointees bring to their respective posts the leadership skills, political experience and technical know-how necessary for the effective administration of the institution`s oversight function during this term. Oversight committees, in particular, are the engines of parliament upon which Parliament`s ability to exercise robust and fearless oversight over those its holds accountable rests. We are therefore confident with the quality and quality leadership selected to manage them.

We have no doubt that the collective announced today will, both individually and collectively, ensure that Parliament`s role as a forum for debate of issues of national importance and as an oversight authority over the executive, is greatly enhanced. Parliament has a critical role to play in ensuring that this government delivers on its electoral commitments to move South Africa forward.

The following are the new appointments for the fifth Parliament:

Political Committee:
1. Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa
2. Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor
3. Baleka Mbete
4. Thandi Ruth Modise
5. Solomon Lechesa Tsenoli
6. Johannes Raseriti Tau
7. Jeffrey Thamsanqa Radebe
8. Bathabile Olive Dlamini
9. Phumelele Stone Sizani
10. Hunadi Euphemia Mateme
11. Ebrahim Ismail Ebrahim
12. Gerhardus Willem Koornhof
13. Dorries Eunice Dlakude

Chairperson of Caucus: Seiso Joel Mohai

House Chairpersons:
1. Cedric Thomas Frolick
2. Mmatlala Grace Boroto
3. Thoko Didiza

Members of the rules Committee
1. Phumelele Stone Sizani
2. Dorries Eunice Dlakude
3. Mzameni Richard Mdakane
4. Mmatlala Graceboroto
5. Buoang Lemias Mashile
6. Amos Fish Mahlalela
7. Bhekizizwe Abram Radebe
8. Mmamoloko Tryphosa Kubayi
9. Yunus Ismail Carrim
10. Cornelia Carol September
11. Nyamezeli Shadrack Booi
12. Benedict Anthony Duke Martins
13. Madipoane Refiloe Moremadi Mothapo
14. Joyce Clementine Moloi-Moropa
15. Vincent George Smith
16. Mathole Serofo Motshekga
17. Gerhardus Willem Koornhof
18. Nkosiyakhe Amos Masondo
19. Fezile Bhengu
20. Nthibane Rebecca Mokoto
21. Thandi Cecilia Memela

1. Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Chairperson: Machwene Rosina Semenya
Whip: Humphrey Maxegwana

2. Arts And Culture

Chairperson: Xoliswa Sandra Tom
Whip: Jabulani Lukas Mahlangu

3. Basic Education

Chairperson: Nomalungelo Gina
Whip: Nthibane Rebecca Mokoto

3. Communications

Chairperson: Joyce Clementine Moloi-Moropa
Whip: Mziwamadoda Upington Kalako

4. Cooperative Governance And Traditional Affairs

Chairperson: Mzameni Richard Mdakane
Whip: Enock Muzi Mthethwa

5. Defence And Military Veterans

Chairperson: Malusi Stanley Motimele
Whip: Dennis Dumisani Gamede

6. Economic Development

Chairperson: Elsie Mmathulare Coleman
Whip: Mosie Antony Cele

7. Energy

Chairperson: Fikile Zacharia Majola
Whip: Zukisa Cheryl Faku

8. Environmental Affairs

Chairperson: Jackson Mphikwa Mthembu
Whip: Zondi Silence Makhubele

9. Finance

Chairperson: Yunus Ismail Carrim
Whip: David Douglas Des Van Rooyen

10. Health

Chairperson: Mary-Ann Lindelwa Dunjwa
Whip: Amos Fish Mahlalela

11. Higher Education

Chairperson: Yvonne Nkwenkwezi Phosa
Whip: Charles Danny Kekana

12. Home Affairs

Chairperson: Buoang Lemias Mashile
Whip: Don Gumede

13. Human Settlements

Chairperson: Nocawe Noncedo Mafu
Whip: Lungi Annette Mnganga-Gcabashe

14. International Relations

Chairperson: Moses Siphosezwe Amos Masango
Whip: Bhekizizwe Abrachairperson: Lumka Elizabeth Yengeni
Whip: Fezeka Sister Loliwe

15. Mineral Resources

Chairperson: Sahlulele Luzipo
Whip: Zwelivelile Mandlesizwe Dalibhunga Mandela

16. Police

Chairperson: Francois Beukman
Whip: Jerome Joseph Maake

17. Public Enterprises

Chairperson: Dipuo Bertha Letsatsi-Duba
Whip: Daphne Zukiswa Rantho

18. Public Service And Administration

Chairperson: Bertha Peace Mabe
Whip: Regina Mina Mpontseng Lesoma

19. Public Works

Chairperson: Benedict Anthony Duke Martins
Whip: Freddie Adams

20. Rural Development And Land Reform

Chairperson: Phumuzile Catherine Ngwenya-Mabila
Whip: Pumzile Justice Mnguni

21. Science And Technology

Chairperson: Monwabisi Bevan Goqwana
Whip: Lindiwe Michelle Maseko

22. Small Business Development

Chairperson: Nozabelo Ruth Bhengu
Whip: Xitlhangoma Mabasa

23. Social Development

Chairperson: Rosemary Nokuzola Zoleka Capa-Langa
Whip: Hope Helene Malgas

24. Sport and Recreation
Chairperson: Beauty Nomvuzo Dlulane
Whip: Strike Michael Ralegoma

25. State Security

Chairperson: Cornelia Carol September
Whip: James Jim Skosana

26. Telecommunications And Postal

Chairperson: Mmamoloko Tryphosa Kubayi
Whip: Dikeledi Rebecca Tsotetsi

27. Tourism

Chairperson: Beatrice Thembekile Ngcobo
Whip: Lusizo Sharon Makhubela-Mashele

28. Trade And Industry

Chairperson: Joanmariae Louise Fubbs
Whip: Mantsheng Anna Tsopo

29. Transport

Chairperson: Dikeledi Phillistus Magadzi
Whip: Mtlkenl Patrick Sibande

30. Water And Sanitation

Chairperson: Mlungisi Johnson
Whip: Johanna Mmule Maluleke

31. Women

Chairperson: Thandi Cecilia Memela
Whip: Phumzile Bhengu

33. Appropriations

Chairperson: Shipokosa Paulus Mashatile
Whip: Ndabakayise Erasmus Gcwabaza

34. Scopa

Chairperson: Themba Godi
Whip: Nyamezeli Shadrack Booi

35. Auditor-General

Chairperson: Vincent George Smith
Whip: Zephroma Sizani Dlamini-Dubazana

36. Ethics

Chairperson: Nkosiyakhe Amos Masondo
Whip: Fezile Bhengu

37. Multi-Party Women`s Caucus

Chairperson: Masefele Rosalia Morutoa
Whip: Nthabiseng Pauline Khunou

Representatives on the Judicial Service Commission:
1. Angela Thokozile Didiza
2. Dikeledi Phillistus Magadzi
3. Mathole Serofo Motshekga

Representatives on the Magistrate Commission:
1. Charles Danny Kekana
2. Cornelia Carol September

Representatives To The Pan African Parliament

1. Zweledinga Pallo Jordan
2. Thandi Cecilia Memela

Issued by the Office of the ANC Chief Whip
Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930