Motion on Resignation of the President

23 September 2008

Parliament’s National Assembly today adopted a motion by the Chief Whip of the African National Congress, Nathi Mthethwa, that the resignation of the President of the Republic of South Africa takes effect on 25 September 2008.

The motion follows the submission of the letter of resignation by the President to the office of the Speaker, Baleka Mbete on 21 September 2008. In the letter, the President stated that the resignation will be effective upon being informed that the matter has been finalised by Parliament.

The adoption of the motion today will pave way for the National Assembly to elect the new President of the Republic among its members on Thursday, in terms of the Constitution. The vacancy created by the resignation will be filled by the Deputy President of the ANC, Kgalema Motlanthe. The Deputy President’s name was unanimously supported by the meeting of the ANC Parliamentary Caucus that took place yesterday, 22 September 2008.

Caucus takes this opportunity to thank the President for his dedicated service to the nation, both in his capacity as Deputy President and later as President.

We join the President of the ANC, Jacob Zuma, in appealing to all South Africans to continue to support and work in partnership with government and its leadership to promote access to a better life for all.

Issued by the ANC Parliamentary Caucus

Khotso Khumalo, Caucus Spokesperson
072 307 7007