Establishment of NCOP AD HOC committee on Info Bill

2 December 2011

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip welcomes the decision by the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) to establish the Ad Hoc Committee on the Protection of State Information Bill. The Ad Hoc Committee will afford the other House of Parliament an opportunity to further process the draft legislation before concurrence.

The NCOP`s commitment to embark on a broad public consultation process is important, as it will afford ordinary people the length and breadth of South Africa an opportunity not only to express their views on the Bill, but also to understand its objectives and contents. Organisations and individuals who have expressed concerns with the Bill are therefore urged to take advantage of this process and submit their views.

This NCOP process bear testament to the ANC`s commitment to listen to the views of the broader public on this draft legislation.

The NCOP Ad Hoc Committee will conclude its business by 8 April 2012. At the conclusion of this process, the NCOP may either send the Bill back to the National Assembly with recommendations or endorse it in its current form.

The following ANC MPs in the NCOP have been selected to serve on the

15-member Ad Hoc Committee.

  1. Mr Reseriti Tau
  2. Mrs Nosipho Ntwanambi
  3. Mr Siphiwe Mazosiwe
  4. Ms Grace Boroto
  5. Mr Lewis Nzimande
  6. Mr Harry Mofokeng
  7. Mr Amos Matila
  8. MrTeboho Chaane
  9. Ms Daphne Rantho
  10. Ms Masefako Dikgale

Issued by:

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip

ANC Parliamentary Caucus

Parliament of the Republic of SA


Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930