ANC Parliamentary Caucus statement

9 July 2005

The ANC Parliamentary Caucus rejects the report by the SABC yesterday, 8 July 2005, claiming that the five Members of Parliament who pleaded guilty to charges of fraud related to abuse of the parliamentary travel system and who resigned from Parliament last month were "forced to give up their seats" and that their resignations were not voluntary.

Extensive discussions were held with each Member concerned. At the conclusion of these discussions the Members concerned decided that they should step down in the interests of both the organization and Parliament. Caucus welcomed and supported their decision.

This has been a difficult episode for both the organization and individual MPs involved. The Caucus has expressed its support for the Members during the difficult and challenging times they are facing.

Mpho Lekgoro [Spokesperson]
083 255 8118

Moloto Mothapo [Head of Media]
082 370 6930