ANC Members of Parliament to Graduate

12 March 2008

The Parliamentary Caucus of the African National Congress wishes to congratulate 31 Members of Parliament, 24 of which belong to the ANC, who will receive their post-graduate and advanced diploma qualification at a graduation ceremony of the University of the Western Cape (UWC) on Thursday, 13 March 2008.

The graduation candidates, who include a Deputy Minister and chairpersons of parliamentary portfolio committees, will be conferred Bachelor of Commerce (Honours Degree) and Advanced Diplomas in Economic and Public Policy at a ceremony to be addressed by the Speaker of Parliament Baleka Mbete and UWC Chancellor Emeritus Archbishop Desmond Tutu. The graduation ceremony is amongst a series of graduations by MPs taking place between this year and 2009.

The graduation by the Members of Parliament is a culmination of a three-year academic training programme provided by Parliament in conjunction with the University. The programme was tailor-made to bolster the capacity of public representatives by increasing their skills and knowledge in public policy, economic and social transformation. The programme is a combination of UWC-accredited course modules and customised instruction that is relevant to the core responsibilities of Members of Parliament.

The academic training of these MPs is consistent with ANC’s commitment to ensure that our public representatives continue to improve and deepen their knowledge and technical skills in order to improve parliament’s oversight and constituency work.

The ANC Caucus congratulates these Members and wishes well others who are currently studying towards their qualifications.

Issued by the ANC Parliamentary Caucus

For more information: Khotso Khumalo (Caucus Spokesperson)@ 072 307 7007