ANC Caucus Statement on New Deployments

28 February 2008

The Parliamentary Caucus of the African National Congress today held its ordinary meeting of the caucus to discuss its political and parliamentary work within the context of the ongoing programmes identified for this year by the ANC.

The meeting received a briefing from the Secretary General of the ANC, cde Gwede Mantashe, pertaining to current developments within the organisation. The briefing by the Secretary General is consistent with normal and regular interaction between the ANC deployed cadres in Parliament and the leadership of the movement.

The Secretary General also briefed Caucus regarding changes in the leadership structures of the parliamentary caucus as per the decision of the NEC. The following deployments have been made:

  • Cde Nosipho Ntwanambi – Chief Whip of the National Council of Provinces
  • Cde Richard Baloyi – Chairperson of the Public Service & Administration Portfolio Committee
  • Cde Lumka Yengeni – Portfolio Committee Whip
  • Cde Oupa Monareng – Portfolio Committee Whip

Issued by the ANC Parliamentary Caucus

Khotso Khumalo, Caucus Spokesperson
072 307 7007